Last verified October 24, 2026 · How we verify
Grants for agriculture businesses
As of October 2026, an agriculture business can be matched against 343 programs: 103 programs for agriculture businesses, 157 general programs open to any industry, and 83 federal grants via Grants.gov.
Land improvements. Equipment. Conservation practices. Value-added processing. There are grants written specifically for producers and ag businesses, and most of them never show up in a Google search. The money is real. The hard part was never qualifying. It was finding the program before the deadline passed.
Agriculture grants by the numbers
- Who funds them
- 46 funders: California Department of Food and Agriculture (3), Colorado Department of Agriculture (ADCRO) (3), Minnesota Department of Agriculture (3), Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture (3), and 42 more.
- Award size
- Most awards $5K to $500K.
- Timing
- 41 open now, 11 of them rolling. Soonest deadline: Northeast SARE Farming Community Grant Program, Oct 26, 2026. 23 between cycles; Small Farm Infrastructure Grant lists its next window as “~Summer/Fall 2027 (page states 'We anticipate the next grant round to open in Summer/Fall 2027')”.
64 grants an agriculture business can act on
Every program below names agriculture among the industries it funds. Some target farms and producers directly. Others fund rural businesses, food systems, or ag innovation. The 'Built for' column tells you whether a program is narrowed to a few industries or open to any. Each links to the funder's official page.
| Program | Amount | Status | Built for | Official link |
|---|---|---|---|---|
Easement Restoration and Stewardship Natural Resources Conservation Service Verified Oct 16, 2026 | $250,000 to $5,000,000 | Closes Nov 19, 2026 | Any industry, including agriculture | Official page ↗ |
CERTA Food Waste Processing Infrastructure Grant Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Verified Oct 19, 2026 | $50,000 to $249,999 for small-scale projects (up to $2,000,000 for large facilities) | Closes Nov 30, 2026 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Services | Official page ↗ |
MPPEP Phase 3 Invasive Wild-Caught Catfish Rural Business-Cooperative Service Verified Oct 17, 2026 | $50,000–$2,000,000 | Closes Dec 7, 2026 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Northeast SARE Farming Community Grant Program Northeast SARE Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Typically $250,000 to $500,000 per project; approximately $1,500,000 allocated this cycle | Closes tomorrowCloses Oct 26, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Virginia Port Volume Increase Grant Program Virginia Economic Development Partnership Verified Oct 12, 2026 | $50 per TEU, maximum $250,000 | Closes in 7 daysCloses Nov 1, 2026 | Agriculture, Manufacturing, Transportation & Trucking | Official page ↗ |
Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services Verified Oct 19, 2026 | Up to 90% of project cost, maximum $150,000 per approved project (reimbursement) | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Climate Resilience Comprehensive Project Grants FY2027 (Colorado) Colorado Department of Agriculture (ADCRO) Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Up to $150,000 (20% match required) | Closes Nov 23, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Very Small Meat and Poultry Processor Reimbursement Grant Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 15, 2026 | Up to $100,000 per applicant | Closes Nov 6, 2026 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing | Official page ↗ |
Noxious Weed Trust Fund Grants Montana Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 16, 2026 | up to $75,000 per project | Closes Jan 6, 2027 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Western SARE Local Education and Demonstration (LED) Grants Western SARE Verified Oct 19, 2026 | Up to $60,000 per project (1 to 3 years) | Closes in 3 daysCloses Oct 28, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
AGRI Sustainable Agriculture Demonstration Grant Minnesota Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 15, 2026 | Up to $50,000 per project; 1:1 match on the amount above $25,000 | Closes in 4 daysCloses Oct 29, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Northeast SARE Farmer Grant Northeast SARE Verified Oct 12, 2026 | Awards range from $5,000 to $50,000 | Closes Dec 8, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Working Lands Business Enhancement Grant (FY27) Vermont Working Lands Enterprise Initiative (Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets) Verified Oct 21, 2026 | $10,000 - $50,000 | Closes Dec 10, 2026 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing | Official page ↗ |
Western SARE Farmer/Rancher Grant Western SARE Verified Oct 9, 2026 | Up to $35,000 | Closes in 3 daysCloses Oct 28, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Climate Resilience Equipment & Infrastructure Grants FY2027 (Colorado) Colorado Department of Agriculture (ADCRO) Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Up to $30,000 (no match required) | Closes Nov 23, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
North Central SARE Farmer Rancher Grant North Central Region SARE Verified Oct 20, 2026 | Up to $15,000 (individual); up to $30,000 (team of 2+ farms) | Closes Dec 3, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
AGRI Livestock Investment Grant (Minnesota) Minnesota Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 18, 2026 | 50% of the first $20,000 of eligible expenses, then 25%, up to $25,000 (minimum $400) | Closes Nov 17, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) Biosecurity Grant Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 15, 2026 | Up to $25,000 per premises (reimbursement) | Closes Nov 30, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Southern SARE Producer Grant Southern SARE Verified Oct 9, 2026 | Up to $20,000 (individual farmer); up to $25,000 (farmer group) | Closes Nov 6, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Farm Vitality Planning Grant Program Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 10, 2026 | $15,000 | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
AGRI Specialty Crop Preparing for Extreme Weather (Prepare) Grant FY27 (Minnesota) Minnesota Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 24, 2026 | $500 to $10,000 per farming operation (50% cash match required) | Closes Nov 17, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
NC AgVentures Farm Grant NC State Extension Verified Oct 17, 2026 | Awards up to $10,000. | Closes Dec 15, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Oklahoma Agriculture Enhancement and Diversification Program Grants Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Up to $10,000 (no match to $2,500; 25% match to $5,000; 1:1 match to $10,000) | Closes Jan 1, 2027 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Agricultural Workforce Development Program (Colorado) Colorado Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 18, 2026 | Up to 50% of each intern's employment cost, up to $5,000 per intern (up to 3 interns a year) | Closes Nov 2, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Small-Scale Farm Grant (Kentucky State University) Kentucky State University Center for the Sustainability of Farms and Families (funded by the Kentucky Agricultural Development Fund) Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Up to $5,000 per application, $10,000 lifetime; up to $500 for education | Closes Dec 1, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Kentucky Food Safety and Efficiency Incentives Program Kentucky Office of Agricultural Policy (Kentucky Agricultural Development Fund) Verified Oct 16, 2026 | up to 75 percent reimbursement of the actual cost of a qualified consultation service, up to $3,750 | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Trade Show Assistance Montana Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 21, 2026 | 50% reimbursement up to $2,500 | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Diesel Emissions Mitigation Grants Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ) Verified Oct 19, 2026 | Reimburses 25% to 75% of costs for private owners (up to 75% for electric) | Closes Nov 12, 2026 | Transportation & Trucking, Construction, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
North Dakota Agricultural Products Utilization Commission (APUC) Grants North Dakota Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Products Utilization Commission Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Amount not stated (no fixed cap in the guidelines) | Closes Jan 1, 2027 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Virginia Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Varies by practice and Soil and Water Conservation District | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
California Nutrition Incentive Program (CNIP) CalFresh Grants California Department of Food and Agriculture Verified Oct 15, 2026 | $50,000 to $12,500,000 per award; $13.5 million available | Closes Nov 3, 2026 | Food & Restaurant, Agriculture, Retail | Official page ↗ |
Rail Industrial Access Program Virginia Economic Development Partnership Verified Oct 11, 2026 | $750,000 per locality per fiscal year | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture and 4 other industries | Official page ↗ |
MTI Business Innovation Funding Maine Technology Institute Verified Oct 24, 2026 | Up to $100,000 | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture and 3 other industries | Official page ↗ |
America's Seed Fund Iowa Economic Development Authority Verified Oct 19, 2026 | $50,000 on top of a federal SBIR/STTR Phase I award, and $25,000 when you submit a Phase II proposal ($75,000 total per company), plus 100% of third-party proposal assistance | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture and 7 other industries | Official page ↗ |
Buy Local, Buy Wisconsin Grant Wisconsin DATCP Verified Oct 23, 2026 | $5,000 to $50,000 (applicants must match at least 50% of project budget) | Closes Nov 4, 2026 | Food & Restaurant, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
JobsOhio Small Business Grant JobsOhio Verified Oct 18, 2026 | Up to $50,000 | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture and 5 other industries | Official page ↗ |
Next Level Jobs Employer Training Grant (Indiana) Indiana Department of Workforce Development Verified Oct 18, 2026 | Up to $5,000 per trained employee kept six months, up to $50,000 per employer | Rolling, apply anytime | Agriculture and 6 other industries | Official page ↗ |
NYS Grown & Certified Research and Development Grant (GCRD) NYS Department of Agriculture and Markets Verified Oct 14, 2026 | $10,000 to $50,000 (10% match) | Closes Oct 25, 2027 | Food & Restaurant, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
WEDnetPA Training Reimbursement Workforce and Economic Development Network of Pennsylvania (WEDnetPA) Verified Oct 17, 2026 | Up to $2,000 per Eligible Employee (not to exceed $50,000 per company) | Rolling, apply anytime | Manufacturing, Technology, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Healthy Food Financing Fund (HFFF) New Mexico Economic Development Department Verified Oct 21, 2026 | Varies | Closes Nov 18, 2026 | Food & Restaurant, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Innovation Voucher Program Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity Verified Oct 18, 2026 | Varies | Closes Nov 6, 2026 | Agriculture and 4 other industries | Official page ↗ |
Small Farm Infrastructure Grant Washington State Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 10, 2026 | up to $75,000 (Equipment Plus) or up to $750,000 (Large Projects) | Opens Summer 2027 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Farmers Market Promotion Program (FMPP) USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Verified Oct 23, 2026 | $50,000 to $500,000 depending on project type (25% cost share) | Between cycles Usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Local Food Promotion Program (LFPP) USDA Agricultural Marketing Service Verified Oct 23, 2026 | $25,000 to $100,000 (planning) or $100,000 to $500,000 (implementation) | Between cycles Usually opens around April 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
California Farm to School Incubator Grant Program California Department of Food and Agriculture Verified Oct 19, 2026 | Producers and food hubs: $20,000 to $200,000 (Track 3); school districts up to $1 million and technical-assistance groups up to $1.5 million; up to $38 million in total (draft Cohort 4 RFA) | Reopens, date not announced yet ~2027 (Cohort 4 RFA pending; public comment period closed Sept 11, 2026) | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Dairy Business Innovation Alliance Dairy Business Builder Grant Dairy Business Innovation Alliance (Center for Dairy Research and Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association) Verified Oct 22, 2026 | Up to $150,000 (for large equipment projects, or $100,000 for other projects) | Reopens, date not announced yet | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing | Official page ↗ |
Choose Iowa Dairy Innovation Grant Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (Choose Iowa) Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Up to $100,000 (1:1 private match, no in-kind; reimbursement) | Between cycles Usually opens around March 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Agricultural Businesses Energy Incentive Program Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE) Verified Oct 23, 2026 | Up to $50,000 (100% match required) | Opens Fall 2026 | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
GO TEXAN Marketing Enhancement Grant Assistance - Product Promotion Texas Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 19, 2026 | Up to $40,000 (reimbursement of approved marketing costs) | Between cycles Usually opens around March 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Southeast Dairy Business Planning Grant Southeast Dairy Business Innovation Initiative (University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture) Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Up to $30,000 (no match; reimbursement) | Between cycles Usually opens around Summer 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant | Official page ↗ |
Young, Beginning, and Small Farmer Grant Program Horizon Farm Credit Verified Oct 23, 2026 | Ten $20,000 grants per year | Reopens, date not announced yet | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Tennessee Agricultural Enhancement Program (TAEP) Cost Share Tennessee Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 23, 2026 | 50% cost share, up to $12,000 depending on the program | Between cycles Usually opens around October 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Brighter Future Fund: National Farm Viability Grant American Farmland Trust Verified Oct 23, 2026 | up to $10,000 | Between cycles Usually opens around June 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Farmer Veteran Fellowship Fund Farmer Veteran Coalition Verified Oct 16, 2026 | $1,000 to $5,000 | Between cycles Usually opens around January 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
FruitGuys Community Fund Small Farm Grants The FruitGuys Community Fund Verified Oct 22, 2026 | Up to $5,000 | Opens Dec 14, 2026 | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Indiana Specialty Crop Block Grant Indiana State Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 16, 2026 | $409,581 total in 2026 | Between cycles Usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Northeast Dairy Farm Improvement and Modernization Grant Northeast Dairy Business Innovation Center (Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets) Verified Oct 21, 2026 | Amount not stated | Reopens, date not announced yet | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Northeast Dairy Processor Modernization Grant Northeast Dairy Business Innovation Center (Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets) Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Total funds available: $1,000,000 | Reopens, date not announced yet | Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing | Official page ↗ |
NYS Beginning Farmer Competitive Grant NYS Department of Agriculture and Markets Verified Oct 13, 2026 | Varies | Between cycles Usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Ohio Farm Bureau Growing Tomorrow Grant Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation Verified Oct 22, 2026 | up to $100,000 among the top finalists in late 2026 | Between cycles Usually opens around May 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Oklahoma Specialty Crop Block Grant Program Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry Verified Oct 16, 2026 | Amount not stated | Between cycles Usually opens around January 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program (SCBGP) Delaware Department of Agriculture Verified Oct 23, 2026 | Not stated on page | Between cycles Usually opens around April 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program (SCBGP) California Department of Food and Agriculture Verified Oct 10, 2026 | Varies | Between cycles Usually opens around August 2027, based on past rounds | Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
Dairy Industry Impact Grant Dairy Business Innovation Alliance (Center for Dairy Research and Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association) Verified Oct 17, 2026 | Up to $100,000 (reimbursable) | Reopens, date not announced yet | Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing, Agriculture | Official page ↗ |
We track 39 more programs for agriculture businesses that are not verified closely enough to name here yet. The quiz still checks your business against them.
How farm and ranch operators qualify and apply: read the guide, Farm Grants: What's Really Open Right Now.
Agriculture grants open right now
- Easement Restoration and Stewardship: $250,000 to $5,000,000, closes Nov 19, 2026
- CERTA Food Waste Processing Infrastructure Grant: $50,000 to $249,999 for small-scale projects (up to $2,000,000 for large facilities), closes Nov 30, 2026
- MPPEP Phase 3 Invasive Wild-Caught Catfish: $50,000–$2,000,000, closes Dec 7, 2026
- Northeast SARE Farming Community Grant Program: Typically $250,000 to $500,000 per project; approximately $1,500,000 allocated this cycle, closes Oct 26, 2026Closes tomorrow
- Virginia Port Volume Increase Grant Program: $50 per TEU, maximum $250,000, closes Nov 1, 2026Closes in 7 days
- Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program: Up to 90% of project cost, maximum $150,000 per approved project (reimbursement), rolling, apply anytime
- Climate Resilience Comprehensive Project Grants FY2027 (Colorado): Up to $150,000 (20% match required), closes Nov 23, 2026
- Very Small Meat and Poultry Processor Reimbursement Grant: Up to $100,000 per applicant, closes Nov 6, 2026
- Noxious Weed Trust Fund Grants: up to $75,000 per project, closes Jan 6, 2027
- Western SARE Local Education and Demonstration (LED) Grants: Up to $60,000 per project (1 to 3 years), closes Oct 28, 2026Closes in 3 days
- AGRI Sustainable Agriculture Demonstration Grant: Up to $50,000 per project; 1:1 match on the amount above $25,000, closes Oct 29, 2026Closes in 4 days
- Northeast SARE Farmer Grant: Awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, closes Dec 8, 2026
- Working Lands Business Enhancement Grant (FY27): $10,000 - $50,000, closes Dec 10, 2026
- Western SARE Farmer/Rancher Grant: Up to $35,000, closes Oct 28, 2026Closes in 3 days
- Climate Resilience Equipment & Infrastructure Grants FY2027 (Colorado): Up to $30,000 (no match required), closes Nov 23, 2026
- North Central SARE Farmer Rancher Grant: Up to $15,000 (individual); up to $30,000 (team of 2+ farms), closes Dec 3, 2026
- AGRI Livestock Investment Grant (Minnesota): 50% of the first $20,000 of eligible expenses, then 25%, up to $25,000 (minimum $400), closes Nov 17, 2026
- Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) Biosecurity Grant: Up to $25,000 per premises (reimbursement), closes Nov 30, 2026
- Southern SARE Producer Grant: Up to $20,000 (individual farmer); up to $25,000 (farmer group), closes Nov 6, 2026
- Farm Vitality Planning Grant Program: $15,000, rolling, apply anytime
- AGRI Specialty Crop Preparing for Extreme Weather (Prepare) Grant FY27 (Minnesota): $500 to $10,000 per farming operation (50% cash match required), closes Nov 17, 2026
- NC AgVentures Farm Grant: Awards up to $10,000., closes Dec 15, 2026
- Oklahoma Agriculture Enhancement and Diversification Program Grants: Up to $10,000 (no match to $2,500; 25% match to $5,000; 1:1 match to $10,000), closes Jan 1, 2027
- Agricultural Workforce Development Program (Colorado): Up to 50% of each intern's employment cost, up to $5,000 per intern (up to 3 interns a year), closes Nov 2, 2026
- Small-Scale Farm Grant (Kentucky State University): Up to $5,000 per application, $10,000 lifetime; up to $500 for education, closes Dec 1, 2026
- Kentucky Food Safety and Efficiency Incentives Program: up to 75 percent reimbursement of the actual cost of a qualified consultation service, up to $3,750, takes applications every month; next round not posted yet
- Trade Show Assistance: 50% reimbursement up to $2,500, rolling, apply anytime
- Diesel Emissions Mitigation Grants: Reimburses 25% to 75% of costs for private owners (up to 75% for electric), closes Nov 12, 2026
- North Dakota Agricultural Products Utilization Commission (APUC) Grants: Amount not stated (no fixed cap in the guidelines), closes Jan 1, 2027
- Virginia Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program: Varies by practice and Soil and Water Conservation District, rolling, apply anytime
- California Nutrition Incentive Program (CNIP) CalFresh Grants: $50,000 to $12,500,000 per award; $13.5 million available, closes Nov 3, 2026
- Rail Industrial Access Program: $750,000 per locality per fiscal year, rolling, apply anytime
- MTI Business Innovation Funding: Up to $100,000, rolling, apply anytime
- America's Seed Fund: $50,000 on top of a federal SBIR/STTR Phase I award, and $25,000 when you submit a Phase II proposal ($75,000 total per company), plus 100% of third-party proposal assistance, rolling, apply anytime
- Buy Local, Buy Wisconsin Grant: $5,000 to $50,000 (applicants must match at least 50% of project budget), closes Nov 4, 2026
- JobsOhio Small Business Grant: Up to $50,000, rolling, apply anytime
- Next Level Jobs Employer Training Grant (Indiana): Up to $5,000 per trained employee kept six months, up to $50,000 per employer, rolling, apply anytime
- NYS Grown & Certified Research and Development Grant (GCRD): $10,000 to $50,000 (10% match), closes Oct 25, 2027
- WEDnetPA Training Reimbursement: Up to $2,000 per Eligible Employee (not to exceed $50,000 per company), rolling, apply anytime
- Healthy Food Financing Fund (HFFF): Varies, closes Nov 18, 2026
- Innovation Voucher Program: Varies, closes Nov 6, 2026
Agriculture grants, program by program
CERTA Food Waste Processing Infrastructure Grant: $50,000 to $249,999 for small-scale projects (up to $2,000,000 for large facilities), closes Nov 30, 2026
Run by Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Services. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
Northeast SARE Farming Community Grant Program: Typically $250,000 to $500,000 per project; approximately $1,500,000 allocated this cycle, closes Oct 26, 2026
Closes tomorrowAgriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
Virginia Port Volume Increase Grant Program (Virginia Economic Development Partnership): $50 per TEU, maximum $250,000, closes Nov 1, 2026
Closes in 7 daysAgriculture, Manufacturing, Transportation & Trucking. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 12, 2026. Official page ↗
Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program (Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services): Up to 90% of project cost, maximum $150,000 per approved project (reimbursement)
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
Climate Resilience Comprehensive Project Grants FY2027 (Colorado): Up to $150,000 (20% match required), closes Nov 23, 2026
Run by Colorado Department of Agriculture (ADCRO). Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
Very Small Meat and Poultry Processor Reimbursement Grant (Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture): Up to $100,000 per applicant, closes Nov 6, 2026
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 15, 2026. Official page ↗
Noxious Weed Trust Fund Grants (Montana Department of Agriculture): up to $75,000 per project, closes Jan 6, 2027
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Western SARE Local Education and Demonstration (LED) Grants: Up to $60,000 per project (1 to 3 years), closes Oct 28, 2026
Closes in 3 daysAgriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
AGRI Sustainable Agriculture Demonstration Grant (Minnesota Department of Agriculture): Up to $50,000 per project; 1:1 match on the amount above $25,000, closes Oct 29, 2026
Closes in 4 daysAgriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 15, 2026. Official page ↗
Northeast SARE Farmer Grant: Awards range from $5,000 to $50,000, closes Dec 8, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 12, 2026. Official page ↗
Working Lands Business Enhancement Grant (FY27): $10,000 - $50,000, closes Dec 10, 2026
Run by Vermont Working Lands Enterprise Initiative (Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 21, 2026. Official page ↗
Western SARE Farmer/Rancher Grant: Up to $35,000, closes Oct 28, 2026
Closes in 3 daysAgriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 9, 2026. Official page ↗
Climate Resilience Equipment & Infrastructure Grants FY2027 (Colorado): Up to $30,000 (no match required), closes Nov 23, 2026
Run by Colorado Department of Agriculture (ADCRO). Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
North Central SARE Farmer Rancher Grant (North Central Region SARE): Up to $15,000 (individual); up to $30,000 (team of 2+ farms), closes Dec 3, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 20, 2026. Official page ↗
AGRI Livestock Investment Grant (Minnesota) (Minnesota Department of Agriculture): 50% of the first $20,000 of eligible expenses, then 25%, up to $25,000 (minimum $400), closes Nov 17, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 18, 2026. Official page ↗
Highly Pathogenic Avian Influenza (HPAI) Biosecurity Grant (Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture): Up to $25,000 per premises (reimbursement), closes Nov 30, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 15, 2026. Official page ↗
Southern SARE Producer Grant: Up to $20,000 (individual farmer); up to $25,000 (farmer group), closes Nov 6, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 9, 2026. Official page ↗
Farm Vitality Planning Grant Program (Pennsylvania Department of Agriculture): $15,000
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 10, 2026. Official page ↗
AGRI Specialty Crop Preparing for Extreme Weather (Prepare) Grant FY27 (Minnesota) (Minnesota Department of Agriculture): $500 to $10,000 per farming operation (50% cash match required), closes Nov 17, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
NC AgVentures Farm Grant (NC State Extension): Awards up to $10,000., closes Dec 15, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 17, 2026. Official page ↗
Oklahoma Agriculture Enhancement and Diversification Program Grants (Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry): Up to $10,000 (no match to $2,500; 25% match to $5,000; 1:1 match to $10,000), closes Jan 1, 2027
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Agricultural Workforce Development Program (Colorado) (Colorado Department of Agriculture): Up to 50% of each intern's employment cost, up to $5,000 per intern (up to 3 interns a year), closes Nov 2, 2026
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 18, 2026. Official page ↗
Small-Scale Farm Grant (Kentucky State University): Up to $5,000 per application, $10,000 lifetime; up to $500 for education, closes Dec 1, 2026
Run by Kentucky State University Center for the Sustainability of Farms and Families (funded by the Kentucky Agricultural Development Fund). Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
Kentucky Food Safety and Efficiency Incentives Program: up to 75 percent reimbursement of the actual cost of a qualified consultation service, up to $3,750, takes applications every month; next round not posted yet
Run by Kentucky Office of Agricultural Policy (Kentucky Agricultural Development Fund). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Trade Show Assistance (Montana Department of Agriculture): 50% reimbursement up to $2,500
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 21, 2026. Official page ↗
Diesel Emissions Mitigation Grants: Reimburses 25% to 75% of costs for private owners (up to 75% for electric), closes Nov 12, 2026
Run by Oregon Department of Environmental Quality (DEQ). Transportation & Trucking, Construction, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
North Dakota Agricultural Products Utilization Commission (APUC) Grants (North Dakota Department of Agriculture, Agricultural Products Utilization Commission): Amount not stated (no fixed cap in the guidelines), closes Jan 1, 2027
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Virginia Agricultural Best Management Practices (BMP) Cost-Share Program (Virginia Department of Conservation and Recreation): Varies by practice and Soil and Water Conservation District
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
California Nutrition Incentive Program (CNIP) CalFresh Grants (California Department of Food and Agriculture): $50,000 to $12,500,000 per award; $13.5 million available, closes Nov 3, 2026
Food & Restaurant, Agriculture, Retail. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 15, 2026. Official page ↗
Rail Industrial Access Program (Virginia Economic Development Partnership): $750,000 per locality per fiscal year
Agriculture and 4 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 11, 2026. Official page ↗
MTI Business Innovation Funding (Maine Technology Institute): Up to $100,000
Agriculture and 3 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 24, 2026. Official page ↗
America's Seed Fund (Iowa Economic Development Authority): $50,000 on top of a federal SBIR/STTR Phase I award, and $25,000 when you submit a Phase II proposal ($75,000 total per company), plus 100% of third-party proposal assistance
Agriculture and 7 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
Buy Local, Buy Wisconsin Grant (Wisconsin DATCP): $5,000 to $50,000 (applicants must match at least 50% of project budget), closes Nov 4, 2026
Food & Restaurant, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
JobsOhio Small Business Grant: Up to $50,000
Agriculture and 5 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 18, 2026. Official page ↗
Next Level Jobs Employer Training Grant (Indiana) (Indiana Department of Workforce Development): Up to $5,000 per trained employee kept six months, up to $50,000 per employer
Agriculture and 6 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 18, 2026. Official page ↗
NYS Grown & Certified Research and Development Grant (GCRD) (NYS Department of Agriculture and Markets): $10,000 to $50,000 (10% match), closes Oct 25, 2027
Food & Restaurant, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 14, 2026. Official page ↗
WEDnetPA Training Reimbursement: Up to $2,000 per Eligible Employee (not to exceed $50,000 per company)
Run by Workforce and Economic Development Network of Pennsylvania (WEDnetPA). Manufacturing, Technology, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 17, 2026. Official page ↗
Healthy Food Financing Fund (HFFF) (New Mexico Economic Development Department): Varies, closes Nov 18, 2026
Food & Restaurant, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 21, 2026. Official page ↗
Innovation Voucher Program (Illinois Department of Commerce and Economic Opportunity): Varies, closes Nov 6, 2026
Agriculture and 4 other industries. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 18, 2026. Official page ↗
Small Farm Infrastructure Grant (Washington State Department of Agriculture): up to $75,000 (Equipment Plus) or up to $750,000 (Large Projects), next window Summer/Fall 2027
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 10, 2026. Official page ↗
California Farm to School Incubator Grant Program (California Department of Food and Agriculture): Producers and food hubs: $20,000 to $200,000 (Track 3); school districts up to $1 million and technical-assistance groups up to $1.5 million; up to $38 million in total (draft Cohort 4 RFA), next window 2027
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
Dairy Business Innovation Alliance Dairy Business Builder Grant: Up to $150,000 (for large equipment projects, or $100,000 for other projects)
Run by Dairy Business Innovation Alliance (Center for Dairy Research and Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 22, 2026. Official page ↗
Choose Iowa Dairy Innovation Grant: Up to $100,000 (1:1 private match, no in-kind; reimbursement), usually opens around March 2027, based on past rounds
Run by Iowa Department of Agriculture and Land Stewardship (Choose Iowa). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Agricultural Businesses Energy Incentive Program: Up to $50,000 (100% match required), next window Fall 2026
Run by Michigan Department of Environment, Great Lakes, and Energy (EGLE). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
GO TEXAN Marketing Enhancement Grant Assistance - Product Promotion (Texas Department of Agriculture): Up to $40,000 (reimbursement of approved marketing costs), usually opens around March 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 19, 2026. Official page ↗
Southeast Dairy Business Planning Grant: Up to $30,000 (no match; reimbursement), usually opens around Summer 2027, based on past rounds
Run by Southeast Dairy Business Innovation Initiative (University of Tennessee Institute of Agriculture). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Young, Beginning, and Small Farmer Grant Program (Horizon Farm Credit): Ten $20,000 grants per year
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Tennessee Agricultural Enhancement Program (TAEP) Cost Share (Tennessee Department of Agriculture): 50% cost share, up to $12,000 depending on the program, usually opens around October 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Brighter Future Fund: National Farm Viability Grant (American Farmland Trust): up to $10,000, usually opens around June 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Farmer Veteran Fellowship Fund (Farmer Veteran Coalition): $1,000 to $5,000, usually opens around January 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
FruitGuys Community Fund Small Farm Grants (The FruitGuys Community Fund): Up to $5,000, next window Dec 14, 2026 to Jan 31, 2027
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 22, 2026. Official page ↗
Indiana Specialty Crop Block Grant (Indiana State Department of Agriculture): $409,581 total in 2026, usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Northeast Dairy Farm Improvement and Modernization Grant: Amount not stated
Run by Northeast Dairy Business Innovation Center (Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets). Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 21, 2026. Official page ↗
Northeast Dairy Processor Modernization Grant: Total funds available: $1,000,000
Run by Northeast Dairy Business Innovation Center (Vermont Agency of Agriculture, Food and Markets). Agriculture, Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
NYS Beginning Farmer Competitive Grant (NYS Department of Agriculture and Markets): Varies, usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 13, 2026. Official page ↗
Ohio Farm Bureau Growing Tomorrow Grant (Ohio Farm Bureau Foundation): up to $100,000 among the top finalists in late 2026, usually opens around May 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 22, 2026. Official page ↗
Oklahoma Specialty Crop Block Grant Program (Oklahoma Department of Agriculture, Food and Forestry): Amount not stated, usually opens around January 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program (SCBGP) (Delaware Department of Agriculture): Not stated on page, usually opens around April 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Specialty Crop Block Grant Program (SCBGP) (California Department of Food and Agriculture): Varies, usually opens around August 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 10, 2026. Official page ↗
Dairy Industry Impact Grant: Up to $100,000 (reimbursable)
Run by Dairy Business Innovation Alliance (Center for Dairy Research and Wisconsin Cheese Makers Association). Food & Restaurant, Manufacturing, Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 17, 2026. Official page ↗
Federal agriculture grants
Easement Restoration and Stewardship (Natural Resources Conservation Service): $250,000 to $5,000,000, closes Nov 19, 2026
Any industry, including agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 16, 2026. Official page ↗
MPPEP Phase 3 Invasive Wild-Caught Catfish (Rural Business-Cooperative Service): $50,000–$2,000,000, closes Dec 7, 2026
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 17, 2026. Official page ↗
Farmers Market Promotion Program (FMPP) (USDA Agricultural Marketing Service): $50,000 to $500,000 depending on project type (25% cost share), usually opens around Spring 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Local Food Promotion Program (LFPP) (USDA Agricultural Marketing Service): $25,000 to $100,000 (planning) or $100,000 to $500,000 (implementation), usually opens around April 2027, based on past rounds
Agriculture, Food & Restaurant. Verified against the funder's own page Oct 23, 2026. Official page ↗
Past winners
What past SARE farmer grant rounds looked like
SARE's four regional farmer grants are funded by USDA. These numbers come from each region's own announcement of its most recent round. They describe who won before, not who will win next.
| Funded by | USDA's National Institute of Food and Agriculture (opens in a new tab)Current · SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
|---|---|
| Western, 2026 round | 20 grants, $648,616 in total (opens in a new tab)Farmer/Rancher Grants, announced August 24, 2026 · Western SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
| North Central, 2026 round | 43 grants, more than $738,000 (opens in a new tab)The middle award on SARE's list of all 43 was $14,925.Farmer Rancher Grants, announced August 24, 2026 · North Central SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
| Southern, 2026 round | Over $344,000 (opens in a new tab)18 projects listed by SARE.Producer Grants, announced March 27, 2026 · Southern SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
| Southern, 2025 round | 14 grants, $269,728 in total (opens in a new tab)Producer Grants, announced March 10, 2025 · Southern SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
| Northeast, 2026 round | 33 projects across ten states (opens in a new tab)Farmer Grants, announced April 13, 2026 · Northeast SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab) |
Who won
- Northeast: vegetable, livestock, poultry, fruit, hemp and mushroom farms, plus agroforestry, aquaculture and beekeeping (2026 round, Northeast SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab))
- Southern: projects such as cover crops in cotton, native wildflower cover crops in apple orchards, and cage-grown oysters (2026 round, Southern SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab))
- North Central: farms in 11 of the region's states, including grazing, pastured poultry, cover crop, beekeeping and high tunnel projects (2026 round, North Central SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab))
- Western: projects in all 17 of the region's states and territories, across all of its 2026 grant programs (2026 round, Western SARE ↗ (opens in a new tab))
Checked against each source on October 9, 2026. Every number links to the page it came from.
Straight answers
Do I pay these back? How current is this list?
No. Grants are not loans. Each row shows the date we last checked it against the funder's own page. How we verify.
Are these grants only for agriculture businesses?
Some are specific to agriculture and a few related industries. Many are open to businesses in any industry, including yours. The “Built for” column on each row tells you which is which, so you are never applying for something you are not eligible for.
Some of these say "between cycles." What do I do right now?
Get ready before the window opens. Small Farm Infrastructure Grant lists its next window as “~Summer/Fall 2027 (page states 'We anticipate the next grant round to open in Summer/Fall 2027')”; California Farm to School Incubator Grant Program as “~2027 (Cohort 4 RFA pending; public comment period closed Sept 11, 2026)”. The owners who win are the ones whose applications are ready the week a window opens, not the ones who find out it existed the week it closed.
An ag business owner somewhere qualifies for one of these right now and does not know it.
This page lists what is available. It cannot read your operation. The 3-minute quiz can. It matches what you grow or produce, your state, and how your business is owned against every program above and shows you where you stand.
See how many grants fit my business